2014 Quartermaster Recipient Mark F. of Tennessee at his Bridge of Honor.

2014 Quartermaster Recipient Mark F. of Tennessee at his Bridge of Honor.

It was a very special year for 37 Sea Scouts from around the country. This year, 37 Sea Scouts earned the Quartermaster Award, the highest Award in Sea Scouting. The Award represents their many years of dedication to personal growth and to the Sea Scout program. As a Quartermaster Sea Scout myself, I wanted to take the time to acknowledge the level of commitment that each of these Sea Scouts demonstrated to qualify. As many of you know, the two crowing requirements of the rank are planning, organizing, and executing a service project as well as planning and leading a 40 hour Quartermaster Cruise. These requirements, in addition to the rest (available here) are no small feat.

In fact, less than .7 percent of all Sea Scouts earned the Quartermaster Award this year. To put this into perspective, 6% of Boy Scouts earn the rank of Eagle Scout every year! I will include historic Quartermaster data from Brian on Scouting to put this year’s total into perspective.

  • 12 in 2008
  • 20 in 2009
  • 28 in 2010
  • 39 in 2011
  • 33 in 2012
  • 39 in 2013
  • 37 in 2014

I cannot wait to celebrate this huge accomplishment with many of these young men and women at the Northeast Region Bridge of Honor this month. In addition to the NERBOH, 3 Sea Scouts will hold their Bridge of Honor in April at the Spring Icebreaker in Indiana. The Central Region will recognize their recipients at the Central Region Rendezvous in May and the Western Region will celebrate at the Second Annual Regional Bridge of Honor in San Francisco this July!

Peter Schmidt

National Boatswain

Quartermaster Class of 2013