For 37 Sea Scouts across the country, 2015 was a very special year. These 37 Sea Scouts attained the Quartermaster Award, Sea Scouting’s highest honor. The Quartermaster award represents their many years of dedication to personal growth and to the Sea Scout program. For an Able Sea Scout, the highlight of the Quartermaster journey involves planning, organizing, and executing a community service project and a 40 hour cruise. If you are unfamiliar with the rigor of the award, check out the complete requirements.

Just how rare is the Quartermaster Award? About .7 percent of all Sea Scouts* earned the Quartermaster Award this year. To put that into perspective, 6% of Boy Scouts earn the rank of Eagle Scout every year!2015-Quartemaster-Chart

  • 12 in 2008
  • 20 in 2009
  • 28 in 2010
  • 39 in 2011
  • 33 in 2012
  • 39 in 2013
  • 37 in 2014
  • 37 in 2015

You are encouraged to celebrate this accomplishment with the Quatermaster Class of 2015 at one of the three Regional Bridge of Honors. The Northeast Region Bridge of Honor will be held in Swedesboro, NJ this April, the Central Region Bridge will be take place at the Regional Rendezvous in Springfield, IL this May, and the Western Region Bridge of Honor will be held in Astoria, OR this July.

*Calculation was based on primarily registered Sea Scouts.

Special thanks to Natasha Leahey-Sayles for the Quartermaster and membership numbers.